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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 

Under N.J.S. 56:10-4 subsection a.(2) of the New Jersey Franchise Practices Act, the 
gross sales threshold currently applies only to a franchise where “gross sales of products or 
services between the franchisor and franchisee covered by such franchise shall have exceeded 
$35,000.00 for the 12 months next preceding the institution of suit.” 

 In Tynan v. General Motors Corp., the New Jersey Supreme Court considered this 
provision when reviewing the Appellate Division decision to dismiss a claim as untimely; where 
the plaintiff had not operated his franchise within the twelve months before filing suit and as a 
consequence, had no gross sales during that period. 

The New Jersey Supreme Court holding reflected the conclusion of Appellate Division 
Judge Benjamin Cohen, who in his dissenting opinion found that the statutory period should be 
limited to existing franchises that are operating when the suit commences. “Businesses that have 
terminated before suit starts must have their gross sales calculated for the last 12 months they 
existed.” This Revised Draft Tentative Report recommends clarifying N.J.S. 56:10-4 subsection 
a.(2), in accord with the New Jersey Supreme Court decision in Tynan v. General Motors Corp. 

 This Report also considers N.J.S. 56:10-7.3 of the New Jersey Franchise Practices Act 
which governs prohibitions of certain terms contained in forum-selection and arbitration clauses 
of motor-vehicle franchise agreements. Prior NJLRC Draft Reports concerning this section 
considered expanding the scope of this provision. Most recently, following the decision of the 
United States Supreme Court in Kindred Nursing, L.P. v. Clark, concerning state statutes which 
disfavor arbitration agreements, the work of the NJLRC regarding subsection 7.3 was revisited.  

This Report recommends clarifying N.J.S. 56:10-7.3, to avoid confusion for franchisors 
or franchisees relying on the statute for guidance, by repealing portions of the subsection that are 
invalidated by the Federal Arbitration Act, as identified by the U.S. Supreme Court in the 
Kindred Nursing decision. 

  

I. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT 

The New Jersey Franchise Practices Act (NJFPA or the Act) “was one of the earliest state 
franchise protection statutes in the United States” designed to “level the playing field for New 
Jersey franchisees,” by addressing the disparity of bargaining power between franchisors and 
franchisees.1 The NJFPA was enacted in 1971 to regulate franchise arrangements by providing 

                                                 
1 NJ. STAT. ANN.  §§ 56:10–1 to -15 (West 2017); Kubis & Perszyk Associates, Inc. v. Sun Microsystems, Inc., 146 
N.J. 176, 195 (1996); see W. Michael Garner, 1 Franchise & Distribution Law & Practice § 5:29 (last updated 
September 2016). 
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franchisees “the shelter of favorable law.” 2 

The NJFPA intends to “define the relationship and responsibilities of franchisors and 
franchisees in connection with franchise arrangements and to protect franchisees from a disparity 
of bargaining power between national and regional franchisors and small franchisees.”3 Such 
“protections are necessary to protect not only retail businesses, but also wholesale distribution 
franchisees.”4   

 

A. Definition of “Franchise” 

The statutory definition of “franchise” is found in N.J.S. 56:10-3 subsection a. and has 
remained unchanged since the NJFPA was first enacted in 1971.5 

“Franchise” means a written arrangement for a definite or indefinite period, in 
which a person grants to another person a license to use a trade name, trade mark, 
service mark, or related characteristics, and in which there is a community of 
interest in the marketing of goods or services at wholesale, retail, by lease, 
agreement, or otherwise.6  

In 2010, however, the Legislature amended the definition of “place of business” to afford 
wholesale distribution businesses NJFPA protections.7 An Assembly Statement succinctly 
explained that prior to the amendment, any wholesaler or distributor: 

that requires its customers to come to its place of business to buy goods may be 
treated as a franchisee, while one that provides the service of going to its 
customers to deliver products and make sales may not be considered a franchisee 
under the act. Under the bill, both businesses may be treated as franchisees.8 

While this change did not directly impact the language of the definition of “franchise” per 
se, it affected the applicability of that definition. The Sponsor Statement of the bill featured a 
review of the definition of “franchise” as necessary to understanding the amendment explained: 

A contract between two parties constitutes a franchise agreement if five 
conditions are met: 1) the franchisor must grant the franchisee license to use a 

                                                 
2 David J. Kaufman, Esq., Kaufmann Gildin Robbins & Oppenheim LLP, An Overview of the Business and Law of 
Franchising, ASPATORE, June 2013, available at 2013 WL 3773409 at *7 (citing laws in Alaska, Arkansas, 
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, 
Nebraska, New Jersey, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, District of Columbia, 
Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands). 
3 See id; N.J. STAT. ANN 56:10-2 (West 2017). 
4 Kaufman, supra note 2. 
5 See P.L. 1971, c. 356.  
6 NJ. STAT. ANN. § 56:10–1 (West 2017). 
7 P.L. 2009, c. 235. 
8 A.B. 2491, 213 Leg., 2d. Ann. Sess. (N.J. 2010) (Asm. Joseph Cryan, sponsor statement to the N.J. Assembly 
offering floor amendments).  
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trade name, trade mark, service mark, or related characteristic; 2) there must be a 
community of interest in the marketing of goods and services; 3) the franchisee 
must establish or maintain a place of business in the State; 4) the gross sales of 
products or services between the franchisor and franchisee must be more than 
$35,000 in the prior year; and 5) more than 20 percent of the franchisees sales are 
intended to be or derived from the franchise.9 

 

B. Gross Sales Threshold 

N.J.S. 56:10-4 describes which franchises are covered under the Act. The decision of the 
New Jersey Supreme Court, in Tynan v. General Motors Corp., guides the interpretation of this 
provision.10 In Tynan, the Supreme Court reversed in part the Appellate Division ruling and 
affirmed the reasoning of the partial dissent of Judge Cohen.  

The plaintiff filed a claim in April 1987 against General Motors, following the sale of his 
General Motors franchised dealership in July 1985, for various violations of the NJFPA, 
including N.J.S. 56:10-4 subsection a.(2).11 The plaintiff previously owned a General Motors 
franchised dealership which he sold in July 1985 prior to the suit.12 Under subsection a.(2), the 
gross sales threshold “applies only to a franchise . . . where gross sales of products or services 
between the franchisor and franchisee covered by such franchise shall have exceeded $35,000.00 
for the 12 months next preceding the institution of suit.” Since the plaintiff did not operate his 
franchise within twelve months before filing suit, his gross sales during that period were zero, 
and his claim was therefore dismissed as untimely by the Appellate Division.  

The New Jersey Supreme Court, later reversed in part the Appellate Division ruling, the 
decision reflected the conclusion of Judge Cohen who found it “apparent from the structure of 
the Act and the words of N.J.S. 56:10-4 that the purpose was to restrict the application of the Act 
to franchises that were sufficiently local to merit regulation and sufficiently consequential to the 
franchisee to merit protection.”13 In his view, $35,000 in annual sales “is not a very stringent 
standard. But no franchise that went out of business a year or so before starting suit could satisfy 
it if applied literally,” finding that a “plain meaning” interpretation would be inconsistent with 
the goals of the NJFPA. Judge Cohen provided the following illustration of the problem: 

A franchisee doing $35,001 in annual business has six years to sue its franchisor 
for a minor but illegal action which the franchisee can comfortably survive. 
N.J.S.A. 2A:14-1. But, if the majority is correct, a franchisee whose illegal 

                                                 
9 A.B. 2491, 213 Leg., 2d. Ann. Sess. (N.J. 2010)(Asm. Joseph Cryan, sponsor statement to the N.J. Assembly); 
S.B. 1539, 213 Leg., 2d. Ann. Sess.(N.J. 2010)(Sen. Bob Smith, sponsor statement to the N.J. Senate). 
10 Tynan v. General Motors Corp., 127 N.J. 269 (1992), rev’g in part, 248 N.J. Super. 654, 656 (App. Div. 1991). 
11Id., 248 N.J. Super. 654, 675 (App. Div. 1991) (noting plaintiff’s initial claim was denied due to lack of standing). 
12 Id. 
13 Id. 
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treatment by the franchisor is so horrendously effective that it destroys the 
business altogether has only 12 months to sue.14 

 Judge Cohen noted that the words of the statute were “plain enough” and that there was 
“no legislative history to help,” but asserted that “the results of literal application are so unfair, 
and so capricious that the Legislature could not possibly have intended them.”15  

Considering the $35,000 threshold as indicative of a legislative intent “not to limit the 
time for suit but to measure the size of the businesses protected by the Act,” Judge Cohen 
proposed that the current twelve-month period should be “limited to ongoing franchises that are 
in business when suit is started. Businesses that have terminated before suit starts must have their 
gross sales calculated for the last 12 months they existed.”16 This Report seeks to clarify N.J.S. 
56:10-4 subsection a.(2) in accord with the Supreme Court decision in Tynan, which reflects the 
reasoning of Judge Cohen’s dissent.17 

 

II. FORUM-SELECTION AND  ARBITRATION CLAUSES 

The NJFPA promotes a level playing field for franchisees and discourages franchisors 
from exploiting their superior economic resources. In accord, the legislative intent of the Act 
extends to the resolution of conflict where the right to a jury trial is encouraged for the benefit of 
the franchisee, and arbitration is disfavored. 

  The Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), however, pre-empts any state statute that 
“discriminates on its face against arbitration” or “covertly accomplishes the same objective by 
disfavoring contracts that. . . have defining features of arbitration agreements.”18 “Under the 
Supremacy Clause, federal law may be held to preempt state law where any of the three forms of 
preemption may be properly applied: express preemption, field preemption, and implied conflict 
preemption.”19  

The United States Supreme Court, in a series of decisions, prohibited efforts by states to 
regulate arbitration clauses,20 finding “that a state statute that required judicial resolution of a 
franchise contract, despite an arbitration clause, was inconsistent with the FAA, and therefore 
violated the Supremacy Clause.”21  

                                                 
14 Id. 
15 Id. 
16 Id. 
17 127 N.J. 269 (1992)  see also Allen v. World Inspection Network Int’l, Inc., 389 N.J. Super 115, 128-9 (App. Div. 
2006).  (finding that forum-selection provisions of arbitration agreements are also considered a part of the arbitration 
clause, and thus “subject to the FAA.” ). 
18 Kindred Nursing, L.P. v. Clark, 137 S. Ct. 1421, 1426 (2017). 
19 17 Am. Jur. 2d Constitutional Law § 234 (2017). 
20 Allied-Bruce Terminix Cos. v. Dobson, 513 U.S. 265, 268 (1995); see Allen, 389 N.J. Super at 126. 
21 Alpert v. Alphagraphics Franchising, Inc., 731 F. Supp. 685, 688 (D.N.J. 1990) (citing Southland Corp. v. 
Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 10 (1984)). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2041650686&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=I7fc1e4d04f9e11e7a3f3a229dca6c9c6&refType=RP&fi=co_pp_sp_708_1426&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)#co_pp_sp_708_1426
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The U.S. Supreme Court, in Kindred Nursing v. Clark, held that the FAA establishes a 
“an equal-treatment principle” – allowing a court “to invalidate an arbitration agreement based 
on ‘generally applicable contract defenses’ like fraud or unconscionability, but not on legal rules 
that “apply only to arbitration or that derive their meaning from the fact that an agreement to 
arbitrate is at issue.’ ”22  

The FAA thus preempts any state rule discriminating on its face against 
arbitration—for example, a ‘law prohibit[ing] outright the arbitration of a 
particular type of claim.’ And not only that: The Act also displaces any rule that 
covertly accomplishes the same objective by disfavoring contracts that (oh so 
coincidentally) have the defining features of arbitration agreements.23  

The U.S. Supreme Court, to further illustrate, recounted from a prior decision a 
hypothetical state statute “declaring unenforceable any contract that ‘disallow[ed] an ultimate 
disposition [of a dispute] by a jury’ ” -  “[s]uch a law might avoid referring to arbitration by 
name; but still . . . would “rely on the uniqueness of an agreement to arbitrate as [its] basis” - and 
thereby violate the  FAA.”24 

In the absence of express preemptive language, Congress's intent to preempt all 
state law in a particular area may be inferred when the scheme of federal 
regulation is sufficiently comprehensive to make reasonable the inference that 
Congress left no room for supplementary state regulation. In determining whether 
Congress, through legislation, has so occupied a particular field as to preclude 
state legislation, the Supreme Court, in order to discover the boundaries of the 
particular field involved, will look to the federal statute itself and read in the light 
of its constitutional setting and its legislative history. Further, a court will find 
preemption where it is impossible for a private party to comply with both state 
and federal law and where state law is obstacle to accomplishment and execution 
of Congress's full purposes and objectives; what is a sufficient obstacle is 
determined by examining the federal statute and identifying its purpose and 
intended effects.25 

In Central Jersey Freightliner, Inc. v. Freightliner Corp., the District Court of New 
Jersey found a “clear conflict between the FAA and the N.J.S. 56:10-7.3 subsection a(3).”26 
Summarizing its analysis of the nexus between the two laws, the court explained that “[b]ecause 
the FAA was intended to foreclose state legislative attempts to limit the enforceability of 
arbitration agreements, and because N.J.S. 56:10–7.3 subsection a.(3) is just such an attempt, the 

                                                 
22 Kindred Nursing, 137 S.Ct. at 1426.  
23 Id., quoting AT & T Mobility LLC v. Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 342. 
24 Id.  
25 17 Am. Jur. 2d Constitutional Law § 234 (2017). 
26 Central Jersey Freightliner, Inc. v. Freightliner Corp., 987 F. Supp. 289, 300 (D.N.J. 1997). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2025172541&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=I654ed591394911e7b92bf4314c15140f&refType=RP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.DocLink)


New Jersey Franchise Practices Act – Revised Draft Tentative Report – July 10, 2017 – Page 7 
 

Court holds that N.J.S. 56:10–7.3 subsection a.(3) violates the Supremacy Clause and is 
preempted by the FAA.”27  

The NJFPA disfavors arbitration and reflects New Jersey’s high regard for an 
individual’s right to a jury trial, in violation of the FAA. Federal law, however, does not require 
repeal of state provisions pre-empted by federal statute.28 New Jersey, in fact, has a right to 
retain the statutory provisions preempted by the FAA.29 

The Commission, however, finds that retaining an invalid statutory provision may lead to 
confusion, particularly for franchisors or franchisees relying on the New Jersey statute for 
guidance, as well as in situations where New Jersey statutes are considered in the formation of 
interstate franchise agreements. The recommendations of the NJLRC to repeal portions of 
section 7.3 which violate the FAA, as identified by the U.S. Supreme Court in the Kindred 
Nursing decision, are consistent with the Commission’s statutory mandate to clarify confusing 
provisions in the law. 

 

PROPOSED REVISION 

The proposed revisions to N.J.S. 56:10-4 subsection a.(2) reflect the Supreme Court 
holding in Tynan v. General Motors Corp., which reversed in part the Appellate Division 
decision and affirmed the reasoning of Judge Cohen’s partial dissent, proposing that the current 
twelve month period should be “limited to ongoing franchises that are in business when suit is 
started.”30 Businesses that have terminated before suit starts must have their gross sales 
calculated for the last 12 months they existed.”31 

The recommendations which follow also propose revisions to N.J.S. 56:10-7.3 and 
identify for repeal portions of that section, consistent with the Commission’s statutory mandate 
to clarify confusing provisions in the statutory body of law. 

                                                 
27 Freightliner, 987 F. Supp. at 300; see also Doctor's Assoc. Inc. v. Hamilton, 150 F.3d 157, 163 (2d Cir. 1998) (“to 
the extent that Kubis can be read to invalidate arbitral forum selection clauses in franchise agreements, it is 
preempted by the FAA”); see also See B & S Ltd., Inc. v. Elephant & Castle Int'l, Inc., 388 N.J. Super. 160, 175 (Ch. 
Div. 2006) (“While the arbitral forum selection clause is not presumptively invalid under the Kubis decision, . . . 
New Jersey state contract law will be applied to analyze whether the arbitration clause and the arbitral forum 
selection clause are enforceable.”).  
28 See Ernest A. Young, The Ordinary Diet of the Law, 2011 Sup. Ct. Rev. 253, 311 
29 See id. 
30 248 N.J. Super. at 675. 
31 Id. 
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APPENDIX 

N.J.S. 56:10–4. Franchises to Which Act Applicable 

This act applies only: 
 

a. to a franchise:  
(1) the performance of which contemplates or requires the franchisee to establish 

or maintain a place of business within the State of New Jersey,  
(2) where gross sales of products or services between the franchisor and 

franchisee covered by such franchise shall have exceeded $35,000.00 for: 
(A) the 12 months next immediately preceding the institution of suit 

pursuant to this act for ongoing franchises that remain in business when suit is 
instituted or,  

(B) the last 12 months of business operation for businesses that have 
terminated before the institution of suit pursuant to this act, and  
(3) where more than 20% of the franchisee's gross sales are intended to be or are 

derived from such franchise; or 
 

b. to a franchise for the sale of new motor vehicles as defined in R.S.39:10-2, the 
performance of which contemplates or requires the franchisee to establish or maintain a 
place of business within the State of New Jersey.32 

 
N.J.S. 56:10-7.3. Motor vehicle franchises; prohibition of certain terms or conditions; 
presumption; remedies 
 
a. It shall be a violation of the “Franchise Practices Act,” P.L.1971, c. 356 (C.56:10-1 et seq.) to 
require a motor vehicle franchisee to agree to a term or condition in a franchise, or in any lease 
or agreement ancillary or collateral to a franchise, which: 
 

(1) Requires the motor vehicle franchisee to waive trial by jury in actions involving the 
motor vehicle franchisor;  
(2) Sspecifies the jurisdictions, or venues or tribunals in which disputes arising with 
respect to the franchise, lease or agreement shall or shall not be submitted for resolution. 
or otherwise prohibits a motor vehicle franchisee from bringing an action in a particular 
forum otherwise available under the law of this State.; or 

                                                 
32 The revisions are based on the determinations of the Supreme Court decision in Tynan v. General Motors Corp., 
127 N.J. 269 (1992), rev’g in part, 248 N.J. Super. 654, 656 (App. Div. 1991)(adopting the reasoning of the partial 
dissent of Judge Cohen)(considering the $35,000 threshold as indicative of a legislative intent “not to limit the time 
for suit but to measure the size of the businesses protected by the Act,” Judge Cohen proposed that the current 
twelve month period should be “limited to ongoing franchises that are in business when suit is started. Businesses 
that have terminated before suit starts must have their gross sales calculated for the last 12 months they existed”). 
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(3) Requires that disputes between the motor vehicle franchisor and motor vehicle 
franchisee be submitted to arbitration or to any other binding alternate dispute resolution 
procedure; provided, however, that any franchise, lease or agreement may authorize the 
submission of a dispute to arbitration or to binding alternate dispute resolution if the 
motor vehicle franchisor and motor vehicle franchisee voluntarily agree to submit the 
dispute to arbitration or binding alternate dispute resolution at the time the dispute arises. 

 
b. For the purposes of this section, it shall be presumed that a motor vehicle franchisee has been 
required to agree to a term or condition in violation of this section as a condition of the offer, 
grant or renewal of a franchise or of any lease or agreement ancillary or collateral to a franchise, 
if the motor vehicle franchisee, at the time of the offer, grant or renewal of the franchise, lease or 
agreement is not offered the option of an identical franchise, lease or agreement without the term 
or condition proscribed by this section. 
 
c. In addition to any remedy provided in the “Franchise Practices Act,” any term or condition 
included in a franchise, or in any lease or agreement ancillary or collateral to a franchise, in 
violation of this section may be revoked by the motor vehicle franchisee by written notice to the 
motor vehicle franchisor within 60 days of the motor vehicle franchisee's receipt of the fully 
executed franchise, lease or agreement. This revocation shall not otherwise affect the validity, 
effectiveness or enforceability of the franchise, lease or agreement. 
 
 


