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MEMORANDUM 

 
Executive Summary 

 
Staff had been asked to review the Model Entity Transaction Act1 (META) to determine 

whether modifications to New Jersey’s law to incorporate provisions of the Act would be of use. 
In connection with research on this subject, Staff noted that it is presently a “misdemeanor” for a 
partnership to conduct or transact business in New Jersey if they have not filed the appropriate 
paperwork with the County Clerk’s Office.2 A cursory examination of the New Jersey Statutes 
confirms the prevalence of both the term “misdemeanor” and “high misdemeanor.”  
 

Misdemeanor and High Misdemeanor 
 
 In New Jersey “crimes” are set forth in Title 2C. In its current incarnation, crimes are 
classified, for the purpose of sentence, into four degrees.3 The statute, N.J.S. 2C:43-1(a) refers to 
crimes of the first degree, second degree, third degree, and fourth degree.4 The New Jersey 
Criminal Code does, however, recognize that other statutes may define criminal activity and that 
the designation of these crimes may not follow the schema set forth in N.J.S. 2C:43-1(a).5  
 
 Misdemeanors are addressed in the criminal code in Subtitle 3, Chapter 43, Section 1, 
subsection b. Regarding misdemeanors, subsection b. provides: 
 

… notwithstanding any other provision of law, a crime defined by 
any statute of this State other than this code and designated as a 
misdemeanor shall constitute for purpose of sentence, a crime of 
the fourth degree. 

 
There are presently 271 references to the term “misdemeanor” in the New Jersey Statutes. 

These references span 41 titles and 1 appendix. An individual alleged to have violated one of 
these statutory sections could be charged with a crime of the fourth degree6, subject to eighteen 
months incarceration7 and up to a $10,000.008 fine if no alternate punishment is specified in the 
individual statute.9 
 
                                                           
1 Model Entity Transactions Act (META) Summary, Uniform Law. 
2 See N.J.S. 56-1-1 and N.J.S. 56:1-2. 
3 N.J.S. 2C:43-1(a). 
4 Id. 
5 N.J.S. 2C:43-1(b). 
6 Id. 
7 N.J.S. 2C:43-6(4). 
8 N.J.S. 2C:43-3(b)(2). 
9 See CANNEL, CRIMINAL CODE ANNOTATED, Comment N.J.S. 2C:43-1(b),(Gann 2017). 
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The New Jersey Statutes also contain references to “high misdemeanors.” This 

classification of crimes is also addressed in the criminal code in Subtitle 3, Chapter 43, Section 
1, subsection b.  This subsection provides: 

 
…a crime defined by any statute of this State other than this code 
and designated as a high misdemeanor shall constitute for the 
purpose of sentence a crime of the third degree. 

 
The statutes of New Jersey contain 36 references to “high misdemeanors” across 18 titles. 

A person convicted of a high misdemeanor could be charged with a crime of the third degree10, 
subject to between three to five years incarceration11 and up to a $10,000.0012 fine if no alternate 
punishment is specified in the individual statute.13 

 
The classification of an offense, for sentencing purposes, as a misdemeanor or a high 

misdemeanor is anachronistic. These monikers represent designations from a time prior to the 
present codification of the New Jersey Criminal Code.  

 
Conclusion 

 
 Staff seeks authorization to conduct additional research and outreach regarding the use of 
the terms “misdemeanor” and “high misdemeanor” to determine whether it would be of 
assistance to update the statutes to reflect the currently accepted terminology.   
  
 Should such further research and outreach be approved by the Commission, Staff will 
contact the appropriate stakeholders to advise them of the Commission’s consideration of this 
issue, and offer any documents produced by the Commission.    
 

                                                           
10 N.J.S. 2C:43-1(b).  
11 N.J.S. 2C:43-6(3). 
12 N.J.S. 2C:43-3(b)(1). 
13 See CANNEL, CRIMINAL CODE ANNOTATED, Comment N.J.S. 2C:43-1(b),(Gann 2017). 


